Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Man Booker Prize 2018 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2018 Man Booker Prize has been announced.

The 13 books longlisted for the £50,000 (A$88,800) prize are:

  • Snap (Belinda Bauer, Bantam)
  • Milkman (Anna Burns, Faber)
  • Sabrina (Nick Drnaso, Granta)
  • Washington Black (Esi Edugyan, Serpent’s Tail)
  • In Our Mad and Furious City (Guy Gunaratne, Tinder Press)
  • Everything Under (Daisy Johnson, Jonathan Cape)
  • The Mars Room (Rachel Kushner, Jonathan Cape)
  • The Water Cure (Sophie Mackintosh, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Warlight (Michael Ondaatje, Jonathan Cape)
  • The Overstory (Richard Powers, William Heinemann)
  • The Long Take (Robin Robertson, Picador)
  • Normal People (Sally Rooney, Faber)
  • From a Low and Quiet Sea (Donal Ryan, Doubleday).

Chosen from 171 submissionsthe highest number of titles submitted in 50 years of the prize—the longlist features six authors from UK, three from USA, two from Canada and two from Ireland. Novels published in Ireland are eligible for the prize for the first time this year, following a change in rules that recognises the relationship between UK and Irish publishing markets.

Four debut novels made the longlist, including The Long Take, The Water Cure, In Our Mad And Furious City and Everything Under.

Featured on the list is Michael Ondaatje, who recently won the 2018 Golden Man Booker for his 1992 novel The English Patient (Bloomsbury). He is joined by other previously nominated authors: Esi Edugyan (shortlisted in 2011 for Half-Blood Blues), Donal Ryan (longlisted in 2013 for The Spinning Heart), and Richard Powers (longlisted in 2014 for Orfeo).

For the first time a graphic novel—Sabrina—is featured on the longlist. Judges said, ‘Given the changing shape of fiction, it was only a matter of time before a graphic novel was included on the Man Booker longlist. Sabrina makes demands on the reader in precisely the way all good fiction does. Oblique, subtle, minimal, unmanipulative: the style of the pictures is the book’s worldview.’

The shortlist will be announced on 20 September, with the winner to be announced on 16 October.

For more information on this year’s prize, click here.



Category: Awards International news