Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ANZ authors nominated for 2019 Astrid Lindgren Award

Ten authors and illustrators from Australia and New Zealand and one Australian organisation have been nominated for the 2019 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

The Australian nominees are:

  • Randa Abdel-Fattah
  • Ursula Dubosarsky
  • Mem Fox
  • Susanne Gervay
  • Morris Gleitzman
  • Robert Ingpen
  • Margo Lanagan
  • Melina Marchetta
  • Margaret Wild
  • Indigenous Literacy Foundation.

Of these 10, all except Susanne Gervay and Melina Marchetta were nominated for the 2018 award.

New Zealand author Joy Cowley, recently awarded the Order of New Zealand, was also nominated. She was previously nominated for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 prizes.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the richest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and carries a cash prize of five million krona (A$784,289). A total of 246 candidates from 64 countries were nominated for this year’s award.

The winner of the 2019 award will be announced in Stockholm and Bologna immediately following the jury’s final meeting on 2 April next year.

Two Australian authors have previously won the Astrid Lindgren Award: author and illustrator Shaun Tan in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett in 2008.

A complete list of nominees is available online here.



Category: Junior Local news