Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Rooney wins novel of the year at 2018 Irish Book Awards

The winners of the 2018 Irish Book Awards have been announced.

Chosen from shortlists announced in October, the winners include:

Novel of the year

  • Normal People (Sally Rooney, Faber)

Popular fiction book of the year

  • The Importance of Being Aisling (Emer McLysaght & Sarah Breen, Michael Joseph)

Nonfiction book of the year

  • People Like Me (Lynn Ruane, Gill Books)

Young adult book of the year

  • The Weight of a Thousand Feathers (Brian Conaghan, Bloomsbury)

Children’s book of the year (junior)

  • The President’s Cat (Peter Donnelly, Gill Books)

Children’s book of the year (senior)

  • Blazing a Trail (Sarah Webb & Lauren O’Neill, The O’Brien Press).

Perth-based author Dervla McTiernan was shortlisted for crime fiction book of the year, which went to Liz Nugent for Skin Deep (Viking). Irish poet, translator, editor, and publisher Thomas Kinsella was honoured with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award.

Founded in 2006, the Irish Book Awards are Ireland’s biggest celebration of Irish books and authors, and are sponsored by the state-owned postal service, An Post.

To see the full list of awards and recipients for this year, see the awards website.



Category: Awards International news