Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Sullivan wins 2018 T S Eliot Prize

In the UK, London-based poet Hannah Sullivan has won the 2018 T S Eliot Prize for poetry.

Sullivan won the prize for her debut collection Three Poems (Faber), making it the third debut to win in the award’s 25-year history, following Ocean Vuong’s Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Jonathan Cape) in 2017 and Sarah Howe’s Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus) in 2016.

Chair of judges Sinead Morrissey described Three Poems as ‘an astonishing debut, challenging the parameters of what poetry can do’.

‘Her collection stood out even amongst this year’s outstanding and diverse shortlist. Rarely has such a significant poet arrived so fully-formed,’ added Morrissey.

Sullivan was chosen from a shortlist of 10, which included three other Faber poets and US poet-laureate Tracy K Smith, and she will receive a £25,000 (A$44,700) cash prize. Each of the nine other shortlisted authors will receive £1500 (A$2700).

Established in 1993 and run by the T S Eliot Foundation, the prize is awarded annually to the best new collection of poetry published in the UK and Ireland. For more information, visit the award website.



Category: International news