Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Edgar Awards 2019 shortlists announced

In the US, the shortlists for the 2019 Edgar Allan Poe Awards (the Edgars) have been announced. The Edgars honour ‘the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television’ published or produced in the US in the previous year.

The shortlisted titles for the best novel award are:

  • The Liar’s Girl (Catherine Ryan Howard, Atlantic)
  • House Witness (Mike Lawson, Atlantic)
  • A Gambler’s Jury (Victor Methos, Amazon Publishing)
  • Down the River Unto the Sea (Walter Mosley, Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • Only to Sleep (Lawrence Osborne, Hogarth)
  • A Treacherous Curse (Deanna Raybourn, Berkley).

Shortlists were also announced in categories including best first novel, best paperback original, best fact crime, best critical/biographical, and young adult.

The winners will be announced on 25 April in New York. See the full list of shortlisted titles in all categories here.



Category: Awards International news