Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2019 Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals shortlists announced

In the UK, the shortlists for the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals 2019 have been announced.

The works shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal for an outstanding book for children and young people are:

  • The Poet X (Elizabeth Acevedo, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Rebound (Kwame Alexander, illus by Dawud Anyabwile, Andersen Press)
  • The House with Chicken Legs (Sophie Anderson, illus by Elisa Paganelli, Usborne)
  • Bone Talk (Candy Gourlay, David Fickling Books).
  • A Skinful of Shadows (Frances Hardinge, Macmillan Children’s)
  • Things a Bright Girl Can Do (Sally Nicholls, Andersen Press)
  • Long Way Down (Jason Reynolds, Faber Child)
  • The Land of Neverendings (Kate Saunders (Faber Child).

The works shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal for illustration are:

  • The Wolf, the Duck and the Mouse (Mac Barnett, illus by John Klassen, Walker)
  • The Day War Came (Nicola Davies, illus by Rebecca Cobb, Walker)
  • Ocean Meets Sky (Eric Fan and Terry Fan, Frances Lincoln Children’s)
  • Beyond the Fence (Maria Gulemetova, Child’s Play Library)
  • Julian is a Mermaid (Jessica Love, Walker)
  • You’re Safe With Me (Chitra Soundar, illus by Poonam Mistry, Lantana)
  • The Lost Words (Robert Macfarlane, illus by Jackie Morris, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Suffragette: The Battle for Equality (David Roberts, Two Hoots).

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Australian children’s author Paul Jennings and illustrator Allison Colpoys were longlisted for the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals respectively.

Jennings’ novel A Different Boy (A&U), illustrated by Australian artist Geoff Kelly, was longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Colpoys was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal for her work on the picture book If All the World Were … (written by Joseph Coelho, Frances Lincoln).

The UK’s Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) will announced the winners on 17 June. For more information about awards and CILIP, visit the website.


Category: Awards International news