Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist announced for inaugural Fogarty Literary Award

Fremantle Press has announced the shortlist for the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award, an unpublished manuscript award for young writers in Western Australia, worth $20,000.

The shortlisted manuscripts are:

  • ‘Where the Line Breaks’ by Michael Peregrine Burrows
  • ‘The History of Mischief’ by Rebecca Higgie
  • ‘The Last Bookstore’ by Emma Young.

The biennial prize is awarded to an unpublished manuscript by a Western Australian author aged between 18 and 35 for a work of fiction, narrative nonfiction or young adult fiction. The winner receives a cash prize of $20,000 and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

The prize is a partnership between the publisher and social purpose organisation the Fogarty Foundation, which provides educational and leadership opportunities for young people in WA. The foundation has committed to supporting the prize for the first six years.

The shortlist was chosen from a longlist announced earlier this month.

The winner of the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award will be announced on 22 May, as part of the next Fremantle Press Great Big Book Read at Edith Cowan University’s Spiegeltent.



Category: Awards Local news