Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Award 2019 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Ngaio Marsh Award for New Zealand crime fiction has been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Best crime novel

  • This Mortal Boy (Fiona Kidman, RHNZ Vintage)
  • Money in the Morgue (Ngaio Marsh & Stella Duffy, HarperCollins)
  • The Quaker (Liam Mcilvanney, HarperCollins)
  • Call Me Evie (J P Pomare, Hachette)
  • The Vanishing Act (Jen Shieff, Mary Egan Publishing)

Best first novel

  • One for Another (Andrea Jacka, Red River Pony Publishing)
  • Crystal Reign (Kelly Lyndon, Remnant Press)
  • Call Me Evie (J P Pomare, Hachette)

Best nonfiction

  • The Great New Zealand Robbery (Scott Bainbridge, A&U)
  • The Short Life And Mysterious Death Of Jane Furlong (Kelly Dennett, Awa Press)
  • Behind Bars (Anna Leask, Penguin)
  • The Cause of Death (Cynric Temple-Camp, HarperCollins).

The shortlist for best crime novel features a work begun by Ngaio Marsh herself during the Second World War. Marsh’s Money in the Morgue is an unfinished Inspector Alleyn mystery set during World War II, which was completed by Stella Duffy and published in 2018 (Marsh died in 1982). View the longlist for the best crime novel here.

The winners will be announced at a WORD Christchurch event on 14 September.



Category: Awards Local news