Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Furphy Literary Award 2020 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the inaugural Furphy Literary Award has been announced.

The six shortlisted stories and writers in the open category are:

  • ‘Ando Gets Plastered’ by Cate Kennedy
  • ‘Awakening’ by Ruby Todd
  • ‘King of George Street’ by Sue Osborne
  • ‘Pub Raffle’ by Ya Reeves
  • ‘Straining at the Leash’ by Jean Flynn
  • ‘Waiting for the Dog’ by Mira Robertson.

The winner of the open category receives $15,000, making the award the richest prize for a short story in Australia. The shortlists for the junior, youth and youth poetry categories were also announced, which have a total prize pool of $1350.

Originally established in 1993 as the Joseph Furphy Commemorative Literary Prize, which was open to Goulburn Valley residents, the award was re-launched as a national prize this year. The 2020 judges are historian Clare Wright, journalist and author John Harms, playwright Marg Hickey, crime novelist John Kerr, journalist and writer Thornton McCamish, and novelist Anson Cameron, who is a relative of Joseph Furphy.

The winners in each category will be announced on 25 July. To see the full shortlists, visit the Furphy website.


Category: Awards Local news