Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:  

Hugo Awards 2020 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Hugo Awards, presented annually by the World Science Fiction Convention, have been announced.

Best novel went to A Memory Called Empire (Arkady Martine, Tor); best novella went to This Is How You Lose the Time War (Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone, Jo Fletcher Books); and best novelette went to Emergency Skin (N K Jemisin, Forward Collection, Amazon).

Best short story went to ‘As the Last I May Know’ (S L Huang, and best series was won by ‘The Expanse’ (James S A Corey, Orbit). Best graphic story/comic went to LaGuardia (Nnedi Okorafor, Tana Ford & James Devlin, Dark Horse).

Best related work went to Jeannette Ng’s acceptance speech for the 2019 John W Campbell Award, in which she described Campbell as a fascist—the award’s name has since been changed to the Astounding Award for Best new Writer, which this year went to R F Kuang.

Accepting her award, Ng said that ‘pulling down memorials to dead racists is not the erasing of history, it is how we make history’.

The Hugo Awards were announced by George R R Martin in an online ceremony on 1 August, along with the winner of the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, which went to Catfishing on CatNet (Naomi Kritzer, Tor Teen).

To view the full list of winners see the Hugo Awards website.


Category: Awards International news