Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NT Literary Awards 2020 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Northern Territory Literary Awards were announced in August.

The finalists in each category are:

Short story award ($1000)

  • ‘Of Ruts and Roars’  (Mhairi Duncan)
  • ‘Bull Buster’ (Karen Manton)
  • ‘TAKE SHELTER’ (Miranda Tetlow)

Poetry award ($1000)

  • ‘Civilisation… is…’ (Kaye Aldenhoven)
  • ‘If I were a bird’ (Johanna Bell)
  • ‘We all adapt and survive, don’t we?’ (Johanna Bell)
  • ‘in search of something beautiful, perhaps?’ (Brian Obiri-Asare)
  • ‘& maybe’ (Brian Obiri-Asare)
  • ‘brown goshawk’ (Leni Shilton)

Creative nonfiction award ($500)

  • ‘Motion Sickness’ (James Murray)
  • ‘Mother’s Day’ (Susannah Ritchie)
  • ‘Dear Bill’ (Kylie Stevenson)

Essay award ($500)

  • ‘States of Deferral: A Recent History of Housing at Borroloola’ (Liam Grealy, Kirsty Howey & Tess Lea)
  • ‘The Hero Who Wasn’t—the Mythic Deeds of Pilot Robert Oestreicher in Darwin’s First Air Attack’ (Tom Lewis)
  • ‘To what extent does architecture of the paediatric department at RDH promote a child’s mental wellbeing and healing process?’ (Nuhansi Wijesinghe)

Kath Manzie youth award ($600)

  • ‘What happens to the imaginary friend when the child dies?’ (Angela Keating)
  • ‘Pudding’ (Tippipon (Tippi) Morgan)
  • ‘The Dripping Tap’ (Jethro Pollock)
  • ‘The Visit’ (Peter Susanto)

Flash fiction award ($600)

  • ‘Sardines’ (Kaye Aldenhoven)
  • ‘Letter to Nathan’ (Lee Frank)
  • ‘Sally Gleeson’ (James Murray)
  • ‘Fire on the Horizon’ (Julie U’Ren)

Theatre award ($1000)

  • ‘Faltering’ (Eleanor Kay)
  • ‘When the Clock Strikes Two’ (Sarah Reuben & Jeffrey Jay Fowler)
  • ‘Ruptured’ (Ciella Williams).

The NT Literary Awards celebrate the unpublished work of established and emerging writers in the Northern Territory and are presented annually by the Northern Territory Library. This year’s shortlists were chosen from a pool of 190 submissions.

The winning and shortlisted works will be published in an annual publication available online and free in printed form at the library, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony in Darwin in September. As well as prize money, winners receive an annual membership to the NT Writers Centre and free admission to a masterclass.

For more information, see the NT Library website.


Category: Awards Local news