Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Varuna announces recipients of 2021 Residency Fellowships

Varuna, the Writers House, has announced the recipients of the 2021 Varuna Residency Fellowships.

The writers and their projects are:

The Mick Dark flagship fellowship 

  • Rachael Mead, for her literary fiction work ‘The Art of Breaking Ice’

The Eleanor Dark flagship fellowship 

  • Allison Browning, for her literary fiction work ‘Cockatoo’

The Eric Dark flagship fellowship

  • Jayne Tuttle, for her nonfiction work ‘Purgatorio’

The Varuna Poetry flagship fellowship

  • Julieta Caldas, for ‘Women Are Well Acquainted with Thirst’

The Henry Handel Richardson flagship fellowship

  • Laurie Steed, for his short-story collection ‘Nova—Stories’

The Ray Koppe/ASA Young Writer’s Fellowship

  • Tim McGuire, for his novel ‘Game Farm’

Varuna residential fellowships 

  • Amy Lovat for ‘Halfway to Nowhere’
  • Andrew Kwong for ‘Wrong Arrival’
  • Anne Casey-Hardy for ‘When Bees Become Diamonds’
  • Annie Barrett for ‘Sent Up the River’
  • Beau Windon for ‘Wild Against The World’
  • Beth Amos for ‘Blindside’
  • Brooke Robinson for ‘Hotel K’
  • Charlotte Askew for ‘Pay Your Dues’
  • Donna Cameron for ‘Until the Sky Turns Purple’
  • Eliza-Jane Henry-Jones for ‘The Waning’
  • Emily Brugman for ‘The Islands’
  • Frances Olive for ‘Cora in the Underworld’
  • Hoa Pham for ‘Being’
  • Jack Vening for ‘Who Will I Be When I Leave This Place’
  • James McKenzie Watson for ‘Denizen’
  • Juliet Paine for ‘The Premonition Bureau’
  • Kerrin O’Sullivan for ‘Arrivals and Departures’
  • Lou Garcia-Dolnik for ‘No Language’
  • Mary Anne Butler for ‘Epoch of the Heart’
  • Maryrose Cuskelly for ‘The Campers’
  • Natalie Satakovski for ‘Follow’
  • Nathanial Jackson for ‘Lavender; or, A Cure for Nausea’
  • Polly Watkins for ‘Moss Whitaker lives in his head’
  • Suzanne Leal for ‘A Runner in Hitler’s Town’
  • Tim Loveday for ‘the birds are singing while we sleep’
  • Ursula King for ‘Peeling Marble: On becoming a medical body’
  • Warren Ward for ‘Lovers of Philosophy’
  • Yves Rees for ‘All About Yves: Notes from a Transition’.

Varuna received more than 300 applications for residency fellowships from both published and unpublished writers.

In recent months Varuna has also announced its Arts NT Fellowships, its Affirm Press mentorship, which went to Emma Lord, Kate Maxwell and Emma Pignatiello, and the inaugural winners of a new international residency exchange, a collaboration involving Varuna, the Shanghai Writers’ Association, the Writing & Society Research Centre and the Australia China Institute for Arts and Culture, which went to Australian novelist Kristel Thornell and Chinese fiction writer and translator Zhou Jianing and will take place in 2021, subject to travel restrictions.

For more information about Varuna’s fellowships, click here.


Category: Awards Local news