Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

The Next Chapter 2020 recipients announced

The Wheeler Centre has announced the recipients of the 2020 Next Chapter grants for developing writers, worth $15,000 each.

The 10 recipients are:

  • Sharlene Allsopp (fiction, QLD)
  • Bigoa Chuol (poetry, Vic)
  • Lujayn Hourani (poetry, Vic)
  • Allanah Hunt (young adult, QLD)
  • Angelina Hurley (fiction, QLD)
  • Tim Loveday (poetry, Vic)
  • Khin Myint (nonfiction, WA)
  • Mia Nie (graphic novel, Vic)
  • Oliver Reeson (nonfiction, Vic)
  • Jonathon Slottje (nonfiction, QLD).

Each recipient will be matched with a mentor who will work with them over 12 months, and the Next Chapter fellows will also participate in a four-day writing retreat at Varuna, the Writers House, in Katoomba, New South Wales.

The 2020 judges, Tony Birch, Alison Whittaker, Nam Le and Maria Tumarkin, also named five highly commended entrants:

  • Frances An (fiction, WA)
  • Theo Anderson (young adult, QLD)
  • Sianlee Harris (poetry, NSW)
  • Tais Rose (poetry, NSW)
  • Aubert Ruzigandekwe (nonfiction, Tas).

For more information about the Next Chapter 2020 recipients, see the website.


Category: Awards Local news