Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2021 winners announced

Ellen van Neerven has scooped the 2021 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards with their poetry collection Throat (UQP).

Van Neerven’s collection was awarded the overall $10,000 book of the year award, as well as the $30,000 Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry and the $20,000 Multicultural NSW Award.

The full list of award winners is:

Book of the Year ($10,000) 

  • Throat (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

  • A Room Made of Leaves  (Kate Grenville, Text)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction ($40,000)

  • The Warrior, the Voyager, and the Artist: Three lives in an age of empire (Kate Fullagar, Yale University Press)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000) 

  • Throat (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

  • The Grandest Bookshop in the World (Amelia Mellor, Affirm)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature ($30,000)

  • The End of the World is Bigger than Love (Davina Bell, Text)

Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)   

  • Throat (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)

NSW Translation Prize ($30,000 biennial award, joint winners)

  • Autumn Manuscripts (Tasos Leivaditis, trans by N N Trakakis, Smokestack Books)
  • Imminence (Mariana Dimópulos, trans by Alice Whitmore, Giramondo)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5,000) 

  • Cherry Beach  (Laura McPhee-Browne, Text)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting ($30,000) 

  • Milk (Dylan Van Den Berg, The Street Theatre)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting ($30,000) 

  • FREEMAN (Laurence Billiet, General Strike and Matchbox Pictures)

Special Award ($10,000) 

  • Melina Marchetta

People’s Choice Award 

  • The Dictionary of Lost Words (Pip Williams, Affirm Press).

The winners, chosen from shortlists announced in March, were announced at an online event on the evening of Monday, 26 April. The awards received a record 633 entities across 10 categories in 2021. For more information, or to watch the awards ceremony, see the State Library of NSW website.

Pictured: Ellen van Neerven


Category: Awards Local news