Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2021 Queensland Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance ($25,000) 

  • Car Crash (Lech Blaine, Black Inc.)
  • Ordinary Matter (Laura Elvery, UQP)
  • Biting the Clouds (Fiona Foley, UQP)
  • A Question of Colour (Pattie Lees with Adam C Lees, Magabala)
  • Change Machine (Jaya Savige, UQP)

Fiction Book Award ($15,000)

  • Friends & Dark Shapes (Kavita Bedford, Text)
  • Revenge (S L Lim, Transit Lounge)
  • The Labyrinth (Amanda Lohrey, Text)
  • Migrations (Charlotte McConaghy, Penguin)
  • Song of the Crocodile (Nardi Simpson, Hachette)

Nonfiction Book Award ($15,000)

  • Car Crash (Lech Blaine, Black Inc.)
  • Into the Loneliness (Eleanor Hogan, NewSouth)
  • Truth-Telling (Henry Reynolds, NewSouth)
  • Amnesia Road (Luke Stegmann, NewSouth)
  • The Carbon Club (Marian Wilkinson, A&U)

Children’s Book Award ($15,000)

  • The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dangerous Animals (Sami Bayly, Lothian)
  • How to Make a Bird (Meg McKinlay, illus by Matt Ottley, Walker Books)
  • The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (Jaclyn Moriarty, illus by Kelly Canby, A&U)
  • We Are Wolves (Katrina Nannestad, illus by Martina Heiduczek, ABC Books)
  • Bindi (Kirli Saunders, illus by Dub Leffler, Magabala)

Young Adult Book Award ($15,000)

  • The End of the World is Bigger Than Love (Davina Bell, Text)
  • Tiger Daughter (Rebecca Lim, A&U)
  • The Boy From the Mish (Gary Lonesborough, A&U)
  • Metal Fish, Falling Snow (Cath Moore, Text)
  • The Erasure Initiative (Lili Wilkinson, A&U)

Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection ($15,000)

  • Ordinary Matter (Laura Elvery, UQP)
  • Smokehouse (Melissa Manning, UQP)
  • Smart Ovens for Lonely People (Elizabeth Tan, Brio)
  • Born Into This (Adam Thompson, UQP)
  • Broken Rules and Other Stories (Barry Lee Thompson, Transit Lounge)

Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection ($15,000)

  • Drop Bear (Evelyn Araluen, UQP)
  • Airplane Baby Banana Blanket (Benjamin Dodds, Recent Work Press)
  • Change Machine (Jaya Savige, UQP)
  • Homecoming (Elfie Shiosaki, Magabala Books)
  • Terminally Poetic (Ouyang Yu, Ginninderra Press)

The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award

  • All Our Shimmering Skies (Trent Dalton, Fourth Estate)
  • With My Little Eye (Sandra Hogan, A&U)
  • Flyaway (Kathleen Jennings, Picador)
  • From Where I Fell (Susan Johnson, A&U)
  • Banks (Grantlee Kieza, ABC Books)
  • A Question of Colour: My journey to belonging (Pattie Lees with Adam C Lees, Magabala Books)
  • Mary’s Last Dance: The untold story of the wife of Mao’s Last Dancer (Mary Li, Viking)
  • All the Murmuring Bones  (A G Slatter, Titan Books)

David Unaipon Award for an Emerging Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Writer ($15,000)

  • ‘Mekauwe= Tears Volume #1 (Notes For Song) 1970-2020’ by Ngankiburka-mekauwe (Senior Woman-of Water) Georgina Williams
  • ‘Politiks’ by Chella Goldwin

Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer ($15,000)

  • ‘On the Exhale’ by Jason Gent
  • ‘The Whitewash’ by Siang Lu
  • ‘The Luminous Heart’ by Natalie Sprite
  • ‘It’s Chemical’ by Lillian Telford

Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Award (two awards of $12,500 each)

  • Rebecca Cheers
  • Allanah Hunt
  • Jonathan O’Brien
  • Ellen Wengert.

The winners will be announced in a Facebook Live event hosted by the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) on Thursday, 9 September. Voting for the Courier-Mail people’s choice award is open is open until 5pm Monday, 16 August.

For more information about the shortlisted works and writers in each category, visit the SLQ website.


Category: Awards Local news