Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nib Literary Award 2021 longlist announced

The longlist for the $20,000 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • The Truth about China: Propaganda, patriotism and the search for answers (Bill Birtles, A&U)
  • The Husband Poisoner: Suburban women who killed in post-World War II Sydney (Tanya Bretherton, Hachette)
  • Only Happiness Here: In search of Elizabeth von Arnim (Gabrielle Carey, UQP)
  • Monsters: A reckoning (Alison Croggon, Scribe)
  • Brave New Humans: The dirty reality of donor conception (Sarah Dingle, Hardie Grant)
  • The Golden Maze (Richard Fidler, ABC Books)
  • The Climate Cure: Solving the climate emergency in the era of Covid-19 (Tim Flannery, Text)
  • The Last Lions of Africa (Anthony Ham, A&U)
  • The Winter Road: A story of legacy, land and a killing at Croppa Creek (Kate Holden, Black Inc.)
  • Where the Water Ends: Seeking refuge in fortress Europe (Zoe Holman, MUP)
  • A Letter to Layla: Travels to our deep past and near future (Ramona Koval, Text)
  • The Believer: Encounters with love, death & faith (Sarah Krasnostein, Text)
  • Who Gets to Be Smart: Privilege, power and knowledge (Bri Lee, A&U)
  • Return to Uluru (Mark McKenna, Black Inc.)
  • Son of the Brush (Tim Olsen, A&U)
  • A Paper Inheritance (Dymphna Stella Rees, UQP)
  • The Imitator (Rebecca Starford, A&U)
  • Amnesia Road: Landscape, violence and memory (Luke Stegemann, NewSouth).

Presented by Sydney’s Waverley Council and celebrating its 20th year, the Nib is Australia’s only major literary award presented by a local council; it recognises the role research in fiction and nonfiction. Out of the 18 books longlisted for the 2021 prize, only one is a work of fiction, Rebecca Starford’s historical novel The Imitator.

The shortlist will be announced in September, with winners announced in November.

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Council website.


Category: Awards Local news