Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Ngaio Marsh Awards for New Zealand crime, mystery or thriller writing have been announced.

The titles shortlisted in each category are:

Best novel

  • The Murder Club (Nikki Crutchley, Oak House Press)
  • Sprigs (Brannavan Gnanalingam, Lawrence and Gibson)
  • The Tally Stick (Carl Nixon, RHNZ Vintage)
  • The Secrets of Strangers (Charity Norman, A&U)
  • Tell Me Lies (J P Pomare, Hachette)

Best first novel

  • The Girl in the Mirror (Rose Carlyle, A&U)
  • The Beautiful Dead (Kim Hunt)
  • Where the Truth Lies (Karina Kilmore, S&S)
  • For Reasons of Their Own (Chris Stuart, Original Sin)
  • While the Fantail Lives (Alan Titchall, Devon Media)

Best nonfiction (biennial)

  • Weed: A New Zealand story (James Borrowdale, Penguin)
  • Rock College: An unofficial history of Mount Eden Prison (Mark Derby, Massey University Press)
  • From Dog Collar to Dog Collar (Bruce Howat)
  • Gangland (Jared Savage, HarperCollins NZ)
  • Black Hands: Inside the Bain family murders (Martin Van Beynen, PRHNZ).

This year, the awards have introduced a category for New Zealand writers of crime, mystery and thrillers for younger readers. The titles shortlisted in the best kids/YA category are:

  • Katipo Joe (Brian Falkner, Scholastic NZ)
  • Red Edge (Des Hunt, Scholastic NZ)
  • A Trio of Sophies (Eileen Merriman, Penguin)
  • Deadhead (Glenn Wood, OneTree House).

The winners will be revealed during an online event in association with WORD Christchurch on 30 October.

Established in 2010, the Ngaio Marsh Awards recognise excellence in New Zealand crime, mystery and thriller writing. The winner of last year’s best novel prize was Auē by Becky Manawatu (Makaro Press), while Melbourne-based New Zealand author R W R MacDonald won best first novel for The Nancys (A&U).


Category: Awards Local news