Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shah Idil awarded $10k Maria Pallotta-Chiarolli Fellowship

Aisyah Shah Idil is the inaugural winner of the Maria Pallotta-Chiarolli Fellowship for Writers.

Awarded by Perth’s Centre for Stories, the fellowship is for mid-career writers ‘in recognition of their literary achievements and commitment to humanity demonstrated through their active engagement in social justice issues’. Shah Idil receives $10,000 and a workspace at the Centre for Stories in Northbridge for three months in 2022, as well as access to the centre’s library, workshops and events.

Shah Idil is the author of poetry collection The Naming (Subbed In) and her work has been featured in the Islamic Museum of Australia, Language on the Move, Sydney Morning Herald and SBS Life.

Centre for Stories reported that Shah Idil was awarded the fellowship ‘on the basis of her body of writing and an outstanding proposal’. Judges Josephine Wilson, John Ryan and Sisonke Msimang agreed Shah Idil has a strong creative writing background and writes with care, thoughtfulness and originality. ‘Her poetry is sophisticated, layering form and meaning, and demonstrates her critiques of literary and social acts of translation, erasure and decontextualisation.’

‘Her proposed project will provide many opportunities to deepen Australian conversations on social justice and human rights,’ said the Centre in a statement. ‘Her work experience is grounded in social justice as evidenced in her internships in international justice and conservation.’

Announced earlier this year, the fellowship honours Maria Pallotta-Chiarolli, an internationally recognised writer, researcher, lecturer and consultant on issues including cultural diversity, gender diversity, sexual diversity, family diversity and HIV/AIDS. It is supported by donors Baden Offord, John Ryan, Christopher Macfarlane and Centre for Stories founders John and Caroline Wood. Donors have committed to three years of funding for the fellowship.

For more information see the Centre for Stories website.


Category: Awards Local news