Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aotearoa Book Trade Industry Awards 2021 winners announced

The winners of the postponed 2021 Aotearoa Book Trade Industry Awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:

Book publisher of the year

  • Mākaro Press

Emerging publisher of the year

  • Rachel Eadie, Penguin Random House New Zealand

Bookshop of the year

  • Schrödinger’s Bookshop, Petone

Emerging bookseller of the year

  • Rafael Moreira, McLeods Booksellers, Rotorua

Bestseller award (for top seller by volume and value between April 2020 and March 2021)

  • Supergood (Chelsea Winter, Random House New Zealand)

Marketing and publicity strategy of the year

  • HarperCollins NZ for Impossible: My Story by Stan Walker, campaign manager Rebecca Thorne

Aotearoa booksellers’ choice award (joint winners)

  • Auē (Becky Manawatu, Mākaro Press)
  • Imagining Decolonisation (Rebecca Kiddle, Bianca Elkington, Moana Jackson, Ocean Mercier, Mike Ross, Jennie Smeaton & Amanda Thomas, BWB)

Salesperson of the year

  • Jessica Rice, Penguin Random House New Zealand

Book industry innovation award

  • Allen & Unwin

Lifetime achievement award

  • Bridget Williams of BWB.

The annual awards, hosted by the Publishers Association of New Zealand Te Rau o Tākupu (PANZ) and Booksellers Aotearoa New Zealand, were announced in an online ceremony on 29 September.


Category: Awards Local news