Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Books among Victorian Community History Awards winners

The 2021 winners of the Victorian Community History Awards have been announced.

The following books were among the winners and commended entries:

Judges special prize (joint winners):

  • Under the Rainbow: The life and times of E W Cole (Richard Broinowski, The Miegunyah Press)
  • For the Fallen: The 1921-22 Melbourne Public Library Mural Competition within the setting of decorative painting in Australian art (Paul Paffen, Australian Scholarly Publishing in association with the National Gallery of Australia)

History: small publication award

  • Places of Reconciliation: Commemorating Indigenous history in the heart of Melbourne (Sarah Pinto, Melbourne University Press)


  • Dwellers of Fisherman’s Flat: They left their mark, they left things behind (Maggie Stowers, Queenscliffe Historical Museum Inc.)
  • Little Lon (Andrew Kelly, illus by Heather Potter & Mark Jackson, Wild Dog)
  • One Hundred Years in the Making: Box Hill RSL 1920–2020 (Steven Cooke, Box Hill RSL Sub Branch Inc.)

Community Diversity Award           

  • On Taungurung Land: Sharing history and culture (Uncle Roy Patterson & Jennifer Jones, ANU Press and Aboriginal History Inc.)


  • Blak Cook Book: New cultural perspectives on Cook’s Cottage (Clare Land, Paola Balla & Kate Golding, City of Melbourne)
  • Albert Pompey Austin: A man between two worlds (Roy Hay, Sports and Editorial Services Australia)
  • Victoria’s Transgender History (Noah Riseman et al., Transgender Victoria in association with Australian Catholic University)

History publication award

  • In the Shadow of the Prom: Early South Gippsland times, tales and tramlines (Mike McCarthy, Light Railway Research Society of Australia Inc.)


  • Changing Fortune: Ebb and flow of people and place in a pocket of Port Melbourne (David F. Radcliffe, PenFolk Publishing)
  • Jas A. Munro & Co.: The largest garage in Melbourne (Ian Berg, self-published)
  • Labassa: House of dreams (Vicki Shuttleworth for the National Trust of Australia, Hardie Grant Books)
  • Made in Lancashire: A collective biography of assisted migrants from Lancashire to Victoria, 1852–1853 (Richard Turner, Monash University Publishing)
  • Save Our Sons: Women, dissent and conscription during the Vietnam War (Carolyn Collins, Monash University Publishing).

The Victorian Community History Awards are presented by Public Record Office Victoria and the Royal Historical Society of Victoria and recognise ‘excellence and originality in historical storytelling’. For more information see the awards website.


Category: Awards Local news