Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

The Next Chapter 2022 recipients announced

The Wheeler Centre has announced the recipients of the 2021 Next Chapter grants for developing writers, worth $15,000 each.

The 10 recipients are:

  • Jumaana Abdu
  • Jose da Costa
  • Josie/Jocelyn Deane
  • Monikka Eliah
  • Tristen Harwood
  • Brooke Maddison
  • Luke Patterson
  • Micaela Sahhar
  • Mykaela Saunders
  • Anne-Marie Te Whiu.

Each recipient will receive $15,000 and be matched with a mentor who will work with them over 12 months. Next Chapter fellows will also participate in a four-day writing retreat at Varuna, the Writers House, in Katoomba, New South Wales.

The 2021 judges Claire G Coleman, Jeanine Leane, Fiona Wright and Arnold Zable also named four highly commended entrants:

  • Jessica Knight
  • May Ngo
  • Guan Un
  • Belinda Zipper.

For more information about the Next Chapter 2021 recipients, see the website.

Pictured: (L to R, top): Jumaana Abdu, Jose da Costa, Josie/Jocelyn Deane, Monikka Eliah, Tristen Harwood. (L to R, bottom): Brooke Maddison, Luke Patterson, Micaela Sahhar, Mykaela Saunders, Anne-Marie Te Whiu


Category: Local news