Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Mary Gilmore Award 2023 shortlist announced

The Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) has announced the shortlist for the annual Mary Gilmore Award for the best first book of poetry.

The shortlisted collections are:

  • Ask No Questions (Eva Collins, P&W)
  • When A Punk Becomes A Spunk (Gareth Morgan, Rabbit)
  • Leave Me Alone (Harry Reid, Cordite).

The Mary Gilmore Award is open to debut poetry collections published in the previous calendar year. The winner of last year’s prize was Jelena Dinić for In the Room with the She Wolf (Wakefield). The 2023 winner will be announced at a ceremony on 4 June at National Gallery of Victoria.


Category: Awards Local news