Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Political Book of the Year 2023 shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2023 Australian Political Book of the Year award has been announced.

This year’s shortlist includes four titles:

  • Australia’s China Odyssey: From euphoria to fear (James Curran, NewSouth)
  • Black Lives, White Law: Locked up and locked out in Australia (Russell Marks, La Trobe)
  • Crossing the Line (Nick McKenzie, Hachette)
  • Bulldozed: Scott Morrison’s fall and Anthony Albanese’s rise (Niki Savva, Scribe).

Introduced last year by Collins, the award recognises the books ‘the judges believe provide the most compelling contribution to understanding Australian political events and debates’. This year’s judging panel includes Laura Tingle, Barrie Cassidy and John Warhurst.

The winner will be announced in Canberra on 25 October, with shortlisted authors to receive $1000 and the winner an increased prize of $15,000.

Last year’s winner was Dean Ashenden for Telling Tennant’s Story: The strange career of the great Australian Silence (Black Inc.).

More information about the award is available on its website.


Category: Awards Local news