Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal 2024 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2024 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The shortlisted works, chosen from a longlist announced last month, are:

  • Frank (Jordie Albiston, NLA Publishing)
  • Like to the Lark (Stuart Barnes, Upswell)
  • Body Friend (Katherine Brabon, Ultimo)
  • The Pole and Other Stories (J M Coetzee, Text)
  • Non-Essential Work (Omar Sakr, UQP)
  • The Flirtation of Girls/Ghazal el-Banat (Sara M Saleh, UQP)
  • Praiseworthy (Alexis Wright, Giramondo).

The 2024 judges are Elizabeth McMahon (chair), Ann Vickery and Ali Alizadeh.

Awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year, the ALS Gold Medal is Australia’s longest running literary award. The winner, to be announced in July, receives a gold medal. Last year’s winner was Debra Dank for We Come with This Place (Echo).


Category: Awards Local news