Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NT History Book and Literary Awards winners announced

The 2012 Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award has been awarded to Great Central State: The Foundation of the Northern Territory by Jack Cross (Wakefield Press) and Darwin Spitfires: The Real Battle for Australia by Anthony Cooper (UNSW Press).

The award, which is worth $1000 and is administered by the Northern Territory Library, was presented at Parliament House in Darwin on 10 May. The two winning titles were selected from a shortlist of three.
Also announced at the awards ceremony were the winners of the 2012 Northern Territory Literary Awards.

The winners in the book-related categories are:

Dymocks Arafura Short Story Award ($1000)

  • ‘Pig’ (Karen Manton)


Dymocks Red Earth Poetry Award ($1000)

  • ‘Kwatye Scours the Sand: A Sonnet’ (Michael Giacometti)


Charles Darwin University Bookshop Travel Short Story Award ($500)

  • ‘The Slow Living Diary’ (Karen Manton)  


Charles Darwin University Essay Award ($1000)

  • ‘Looking for Bertha Strehlow: Giving voice to silence’ (Leni Shilton)


Dymocks Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Writers’ Award ($1000)

  • ‘Territory Days’ (Joey Flynn)


Kath Manzie Youth Literary Award ($600)

  • ‘I’m Faster Than You Know’ (Kierra-Jay Power).


The Northern Territory Literary Awards, presented for unpublished works, are also administered by the Northern Territory Library. To see a complete list of the works shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here.



Category: Local news