Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 PM’s Literary Awards winners announced

The winners of this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced at a ceremony in Canberra this morning.

The winning titles are:


  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)



  • Interferon Psalms (Luke Davies, A&U)



  • An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark (Mark McKenna, MUP)


 Prize for Australian History

  • The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (Bill Gammage, A&U)


Young adult fiction

  • When We Were Two (Robert Newton, Penguin)


Children’s fiction

  • Goodnight, Mice! (Frances Watts, illus by Judy Watson, ABC Books).


The winners of each of the categories will receive a tax-free cash prize $80,000, with each shortlistee receiving $5000 tax-free.

As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, this is the first year that a poetry award has been offered as part of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. The Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History has also been incorporated into the awards this year.

To see a complete list of the titles shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news