Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Overland’ Victoria University Short Story Prize finalists announced

The finalists for the inaugural Overland Victoria University Short Story Prize for New and Emerging Writers have been announced.

The shortlisted stories are:

  • ‘Zone of Confidence’ (Claire Aman)
  • ‘Frank O’Hara’s Animals’ (Tara Cartland)
  • ‘The Other Ah-Por’ (Silk Chen)
  • ‘Remembering Ludwig’ (Mieke Chew)
  • ‘Harlem Jones’ (Maxine Beneba Clarke)
  • ‘The Day the World Stayed the Same’ (Melissa Fagan)
  • ‘Preserved’ (Anna Hedigan)
  • ‘The Cushion Phase’ (Hilary Hewitt)
  • ‘Bachelor Brothers’ (Hayley Katzen)
  • ‘The Rabbit Facts’ (Julie Keys)
  • ‘Sucker’ (Melanie Kinsman)
  • ‘The Things I Will Keep’ (Melissa Manning)
  • ‘Motel California’ (Toby McCasker)
  • ‘Down Came a Blackbird’ (Susan McCreery)
  • ‘Ariadne on Naxos’ (Clare Ridgway-Faye)
  • ‘A Family Album’ (Francesca Sasnaitis)
  • ‘The Orphan Christmas’ (Kate Sherington)
  • ‘The Waves’ (Imogen Smith)
  • ‘Killing Floor’ (John Turner).


The winners of this year’s prize will be announced on 20 November. The overall winner will receive a cash prize of $6000, and two runners up will each receive $1000. The winning stories will be published in Overland.

As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, the prize is judged by Enza Gandolfo, Overland editor Jeff Sparrow, deputy editor Jacinda Woodhead and fiction editor Jennifer Mills. For more information about each of the finalists, visit the Overland website here.



Category: Local news