Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ditmar, Norma K Hemming winners announced

The winners of the 2016 Ditmar Awards for Australian science-fiction, fantasy and horror writing were announced at the Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Contact2016 in Brisbane on 27 March.

The winners, chosen from the 2016 Ditmar Awards ballot, are:

Best novel

  • Lament for the Afterlife (Lisa L Hannett, ChiZine Publications)

Best novella or novelette

  • ‘Of Sorrow and Such’ by Angela Slatter (

Best short story

  • ‘A Hedge of Yellow Roses’ by Kathleen Jennings in Hear Me Roar (Ticonderoga)

Best collected work

  • Cranky Ladies of History (ed by Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely, FableCroft Publishing)

Best artwork

  • Kathleen Jennings for Cranky Ladies of History (FableCroft Publishing)

Best fan publication

  • Galactic Suburbia (Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce & Tansy Rayner Roberts)

Best fan writer

  • Grant Watson

Best fan artist

  • Kathleen Jennings

Best new talent

  • Rivqa Rafael

William Atheling Jr Award for criticism or review

  • Letters to Tiptree (Alexandra Pierce & Alisa Krasnostein, Twelfth Planet Press).

Several other awards were also announced on the night.

The Norma K Hemming Award for speculative fiction that explores the themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability was presented to Louise Katz for her novel The Orchid Nursery (Lacuna), with honourable mentions going to Jane Rawson for Formaldehyde (Seizure) and Catherine Jinks for Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief (A&U). The winner was chosen from a shortlist of seven.

The A Bertram Chandler Award for outstanding achievement in science-fiction was presented to James Arthur (Jocko) Allen and the Peter McNamara Achievement Award went to Rowena Cory Daniells. Both Allen and Daniells were recognised for their contributions to SF fandom.



Category: Local news