Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tchaikovsky wins 2016 Arthur C Clarke Award

UK author Adrian Tchaikovsky has won the 2016 Arthur C Clarke Award for science-fiction writing for his novel Children of Time (Pan). Tchaikovsky’s book was chosen from a shortlist of six, which also included: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet (Becky Chambers, Hodder & Stoughton); The Book of Phoenix (Nnedi Okorafor, Hodder Paperbacks); Europe at Midnight (Dave Hutchinson, Phoenix); and Way Down Dark (J P Smythe, Hodder & Stoughton). Tchaikovsky was announced as the winner at a ceremony in London on 24 August, receiving a prize of £2016 (A$3510). ‘Children of Time tells two parallel stories of the last survivors of Earth and the inhabitants of a terraformed planet,’ said chair of judges Andrew M Butler. ‘It takes the reader’s sympathies and phobias, and plays with them masterfully on an epic and yet human scale.’ The Arthur C Clarke Award is presented annually for the best science-fiction novel published in the UK in the previous calendar year. The 2015 award was won by Emily St John Mandel for Station Eleven (Picador).


Category: International news