Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Longlists for Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes announced

The longlists for the Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have been announced.

The longlisted works and their authors are:

Tasmania Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • Losing Streak: How Tasmania was Gamed by the Gambling Industry (James Boyce, Black Inc.)
  • The Diemenois: Being the Correct and True Account of the Sensational Escape, Seclusion and Cruel Demise of a Most Infamous Man by (J W Clennett, Hunter Publishers)
  • Archipelago of Souls (Gregory Day, Pan Macmillan)
  • Solomon’s Noose: The True Story of Her Majesty’s Hangman of Hobart (Steve Harris, Melbourne Books)
  • Physick (Pete Hay, Shoestring Press)
  • The Better Son (Katherine Johnson, Ventura Press)
  • Wild Island (Jennifer Livett, A&U)
  • Fall of the Derwent (Justy Phillips and Margaret Woodward, A Published Event)
  • Musquito: Brutality and Exile (Michael Powell, Fullers Publishing)
  • Into the Heart of Tasmania (Rebe Taylor, MUP)

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • The Shape of Water (Anne Blythe-Cooper, Forty South)
  • In Brazil (Fran Bryson, Scribe)
  • Woven Landscape: Connections in the Tasmanian Midlands (Peter E Davies, self-published)
  • A History of Port Davey, South West Tasmania, Volume One: Fleeting Hopes (Tony Fenton, Forty South)
  • The White Room Poems (Anne Kellas, Walleah Press)
  • South Pole: Nature and Culture (Elizabeth Leane, Realktion Books)
  • Shadows in Suriname (Margaretta Pos, Forty South)
  • The Museum of Modern Love (Heather Rose, A&U)
  • Down the Dirt Roads (Rachael Treasure, Penguin Random House)
  • Crocoite (Margaret Woodward, A Published Event).

The shortlists will be announced at an event at the Theatre Royal in Hobart on 14 September, as part of the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival.

The shortlists announcement will also include the $5000 prize for the best new unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer and the $5000 Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship.

The winners of all the prizes will be announced at an event at Government House in late 2017. The biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in 2017.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Local news