Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hope Prize winners announced

The winners of the Brotherhood of St Laurence’s 2018 Hope Prize for short stories have been announced.

Finnegan Kruckemeyer won the $10,000 first prize for ‘Like Dresses in a Tree’; Tess Rowley won the $4000 second prize for ‘The Girl Who Wanted to Paint the Moon’; and Kim Kelly won the $2000 third prize for ‘MESSERSCHMITT’.

Melanie (Rees) Crouch and Vicky Daddo were also announced as recipients of the new Women’s Writing Career Development scholarships for ‘women writers whose stories showed great promise’, valued at $5000 each.

The following authors were highly commended, and each received $250:

  • Alice Bishop for ‘Saltwater’
  • Melanie (Rees) Crouch for ‘Lilly of the Locust Fields’
  • Vicky Daddo for ‘Run’.

The following authors shared the award for an emerging writer under 18 (sharing $750):

  • Eleanor George for ‘Biographies of the British Monarchy’
  • Veronica Hester for ‘We Will Go On’
  • Jenny Pang for ‘The Space Between Stillness and Sleep’.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the total prize pool has increased from $12,500 to $17,500 since the inaugural prize was awarded in 2016, when Catherine Moffat won for her story ‘Better Homes and Gardens’.

The winning stories were chosen by judges Cate Blanchett, Kate Grenville and Quentin Bryce.

Simon & Schuster Australia will again publish an anthology of short stories that were submitted to this year’s prize, to be released in time for Christmas 2018, in partnership with Readings.

For information about the prize, click here.



Category: Awards Local news