Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Clark wins Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto Award 2019

The winners of the 2019 Scarlet Stiletto Awards, presented by Sisters in Crime, have been announced.

Melbourne-based writer and former Herald Sun books editor Blanche Clark won the $1500 first prize for her short story ‘At Length I Would Be Avenged’, as well as the $1000 Body in the Library Prize.

Last year’s winner, Philomena Horsley, was awarded second prize ($1000) for her short story ‘Dead End’, which also won the Liz Navratil Award for Best Story with a Disabled Protagonist ($400). Horsley was also highly commended for another story, ‘Second-hand Death’. Adelaide author Bridgitte Cummings won third prize ($500) for ‘The Fossil Hunters’.

Other winners on the night included:

  • Forensic Linguists Award ($800): Jaimee Sharrett for ‘Marie’s Voice’
  • Kerry Greenwood Malice Domestic Award ($750): Caroline de Costa for ‘Screwed’
  • Mystery with History Award ($750): Eugenie Pusenjak for ‘Loose Lips’
  • Most Satisfying Retribution (three-month residency at Old Melbourne Gaol worth $660): Kristen Murdock for her story ‘Plenty More Fish’
  • Romantic Suspense Award ($500): Sandi Wallace for ‘Sweet Baby Dies’
  • Cross Genre Award ($500): Natalie Conyer for ‘Manny’
  • Best Bushranger ($500): Missy Jane Birch for ‘The Emerald Lady’
  • Young Writers’ Award ($500): Lyra Philp for ‘Death by Couch’
  • Great Film Idea Award ($200): Janette Ellis for ‘Lifeboat’.

Chosen from 184 applications, the winners were announced at an event hosted by actor Geraldine Hakewill, held in Melbourne on 23 November. A total of $10,060 in prize money was awarded across all categories.

The Scarlet Stiletto awards were launched in 1994 by Sisters in Crime Australia to recognise the best crime and mystery short stories written by women in Australia. For more information, see the website.

(Pictured: Blanche Clark)



Category: Awards Local news