Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

WBN international news >

Costa Book Awards 2019 shortlists announced

28 November 2019
In the UK, the shortlists for the 2019 Costa Book Awards have been announced. Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award are: Middle England (Jonathan Coe, Viking) Confession with Blue Horses...

O’Brien awarded £40k David Cohen Prize for Literature

27 November 2019
Irish novelist Edna O'Brien has been awarded the £40,000 (A$75,800) David Cohen Prize for Literature, which recognises a living writer from the UK or Ireland's lifetime achievement in literature. O'Brien...

VIDA Count 2018 results released

15 November 2019
In the US, the results of the 2018 VIDA Count, which analyses gender representation in literary magazines, have been released. Out of the 15 literary publications included in the main...

‘Ducks, Newburyport’ wins 2019 Goldsmiths Prize

14 November 2019
In the UK, Lucy Ellmann has won the £10,000 (A$18,800) Goldsmiths Prize for her eighth novel Ducks, Newburyport (Text). Chosen from a shortlist of six, Ducks, Newburyport follows the internal monologue of...

PRH to acquire complete works of Eric Carle

6 November 2019
Penguin Random House US (PRH) children’s imprint Penguin Young Readers will acquire author and illustrator Eric Carle’s company, Eric Carle LLC, which holds the intellectual property rights to Carle’s books,...

Staunch Book Prize 2019 shortlist announced

4 November 2019
In the UK, the shortlist for the Staunch Book Prize—for the best thriller novel in which no woman is beaten, stalked, sexually exploited, raped or murdered—has been announced. The shortlisted...

UNESCO announces 11 new cities of literature

1 November 2019
UNESCO has announced 11 additional cities of literature among 66 newly designated creative cities. The new cities of literature are: Angoulême (France) Beirut (Lebanon) Exeter (UK) Kuhmo (Finland) Lahore (Pakistan)...

Chadwick, McMillan win 2019 Polari Prizes

23 October 2019
In the UK, writers Angela Chadwick and Andrew McMillan have won the 2019 Polari Prizes for work that explores the LGBT experience, reports the Bookseller. Now in its ninth year,...

US$75k Cundill History Prize 2019 finalists announced

18 October 2019
The three finalists for the Cundill History Prize have been announced. Chosen from a shortlist of eight, the finalists are: Reckonings: Legacies of Nazi persecution and the quest for justice (Mary...

‘Supper Club’ wins 2019 Not the Booker

17 October 2019
English writer Lara Williams has won the Guardian’s 2019 Not the Booker Prize for her debut novel Supper Club (Hamish Hamilton). For the second year running, the judges overruled the public...





Transit Lounge Almost a Mirror