Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Varuna announces recipients of 2018 Residency Fellowships

Varuna, the Writers House, has announced the recipients of the 2018 Varuna Residency Fellowships.

The writers and their projects are:

The Mick Dark flagship fellowship

  • Donna Mazza for her short story collection ‘Natural Deviations’

The Eleanor Dark flagship fellowship

  • Lisa Fuller for her young adult novel ‘Mirrored Pieces’

The Eric Dark flagship fellowship

  • Gabrielle Carey for her creative nonfiction ‘Masculine Sensuality: the Ivan Southall Phenomenon’

The Dorothy Hewitt flagship fellowship

  • Charlotte Clutterbuck for her poetry collection ‘Suspect Terrains’

Varuna residential fellowships

  • Jenny Ackland for the novel ‘The Seven’, ‘a contemporary Australian novel about a woman whose life falls apart of the course of one week’
  • David Allan-Petale for the literary fiction novel ‘Locust Summer’, which explores the severing of life from land
  • Cassandra Austin for ‘Baby Sings’, a novel about a ‘young mother struggling to protect her second baby from the mysterious fate that befell her first’
  • Andrea Baldwin for ‘The Illusion of Islands’, an environmental novel that ‘explores the interlinked responsibilities of ordinary people to family, community, other people, other species, and future generations’
  • Rosalyn Bent for ‘The Pound Pear’, a novel ‘exploring the first loves and making of a queer family’
  • Nandi Chinna for the poetry manuscript ‘An Older Country’, exploring ‘themes of place, land, activism, ageing and death’
  • Bernard Cohen for ‘When I saw the animal’, a collection of ‘real and surreal short stories of closely examined moments in human-to-human and human-to-animal relationships’
  • Stuart Cooke for ‘Lyre’, a ‘collection of multi-species poems’
  • Nick Gadd for ‘Death of a Typographer’, a ‘novel about fonts’
  • Rebecca Harkins-Cross for ‘Terror Australis’, ‘probing the history of fear in Australian film’
  • Rose Hartley for ‘The Elegies’, a novel ‘exploring the rise and fall of an Australian country musician’
  • Kathryn Hind for the novel ‘Hitch’, about ‘a young woman on the run hitchhiking through Australia with her dog and grieving the loss of her mother’
  • Linda Jaivin for ‘The Education of Proofreader Ding’, a novel about ‘an accidental art hero, the women in his life, and how truth and lies tangle to become reality’
  • Toni Jordan for the novel ‘Cloudland’, about ‘the decades-old mystery of the death of a beloved novelist’
  • Leah Kaminsky for ‘The Hollow Bones’, a novel ‘based on a true story which smoulders with the crucial lessons we might learn from our not-too-distant history’
  • Katie Lavers for ‘The Watersinger’, a ‘fantasy novel about the imminent collision of two future versions of Sydney’
  • Miranda Luby for ‘The Colour of Air’, a novel ‘about a boy who must confront unresolved family issues or face being trapped on an island forever without the girl he loves’
  • Emily O’Grady for ‘Every Moving Thing’, a novel ‘tracing the aftermath of serial crime on a nuclear family in rural Queensland in the late 1990s’
  • Paddy O’Reilly for ‘The White Line’, a novel where ‘a hardworking cleaner must enter a dangerous world’ to find her missing husband
  • Zoya Patel for ‘No-Country Woman’, a ‘collection of personal essays exploring race, culture and identity for second generation migrants’
  • Hoa Pham for ‘In between spaces’, a ‘series of stories around the Maribyrnong Detention Centre site’
  • Andrew Roff for ‘A Straight Line’, a ‘collection of short stories about the control we exert over ourselves and others; and absences of control’
  • Judith Rossell for ‘Wakestone Hall’, an ‘illustrated adventure novel for readers of 9-12 years, set in an alternative version of Victorian England’
  • Anne Spudvilas for ‘When the War is Over’, an ‘illustrated children’s book reflecting on the importance of people’s connections in wartime and a nature of homecomings’
  • Helen Thurloe for ‘The Fourteenth Wife’, a ‘historical fiction novel set in Essex, England, based on evidence that many men married several wives’
  • Catherine Wright for ‘The Consolation of Birds’, a ‘poetry triptych from an odyssey through Australia, Scotland and Morocco exploring aspects of exile, grief & belonging’.

Varuna received more than 250 applications for residency fellowships from both published and unpublished writers.

For more information, click here.


Category: Awards Local news