Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Review search

 

Escape from Cuttlefish Cove (Rachel Jackson, Riveted Press)

Released September 2024

Debut author Rachel Jackson knocks it out of the park with Escape from Cuttlefish Cove, a choose-your-own-adventure story where the reader is the main character. Imagine waking up on an... Read more

Six Summers of Tash and Leopold (Danielle Binks, Lothian)

Released September 2024

Middle-grade readers who enjoyed A L Tait’s The First Summer of Callie McGee and Nova Weetman’s The Edge of Thirteen will delight in this compelling coming-of-age story targeting the ever-growing... Read more

Summer of Shipwrecks (Shivaun Plozza, UQP)

Released September 2024

Award-winning children’s author Shivaun Plozza’s Summer of Shipwrecks is a vividly real, heartfelt middle-grade novel that explores the capriciousness of tween friendship. Sidney has been waiting all year for her... Read more

Dragonfire: 18,000 Holes in the Universe (Adam Wallace & Lisa Foley, illus James Hart, HarperCollins)

Released August 2024

Tee off into the surreal world of Dragonfire: 18,000 Holes in the Universe, the first book in a new graphic novel series by Adam Wallace and Lisa Foley, with imaginative... Read more

How to Break a World Record and Survive Grade Five (Carla Fitzgerald, UQP)

Released August 2024

How to Break a World Record and Survive Grade Five is the new novel from Carla Fitzgerald, author of the popular middle-grade title How to Be Prime Minister and Survive... Read more

Yarn Quest 1: The Search for the Story Realm (Brooke Scobie, illus Jade Goodwin, Penguin)

Released August 2024

Brooke Scobie’s debut series, Yarn Quest, begins with The Search for the Story Realm (with the next two books in the series releasing concurrently) and introduces friends Sibyl and Tane... Read more

Hi from Outer Space (Fiona Katauskas, A&U Children’s)

Released August 2024

Cartoonist and illustrator Fiona Katauskas’s debut middle-grade novel, Hi from Outer Space, is a wonderfully wacky sci-fi/comedy that will appeal to readers of Nat Amoore, Morris Gleitzman and Eve L... Read more

Hester Hitchins and the Falling Stars (Catherine Norton, HarperCollins)

Released August 2024

The year is 1866, and 11-year-old Hester’s life looks like something out of A Series of Unfortunate Events: her father is lost at sea, her mother dies giving birth to... Read more

Adventures Unlimited: The Land of Lost Things (Andy Griffiths, illus Bill Hope, Pan Australia)

Released August 2024

Adventures Unlimited is the latest series from middle-fiction superstar Andy Griffiths, with the first instalment, The Land of Lost Things, full of the wacky, exuberant, imaginative shenanigans fans have come... Read more

Oscar vs the Grand Old Dude Named York (Ross Curnow, Walker)

Released August 2024

A fresh and hilarious new voice in children’s literature springs forth from the page with delightful force in Oscar vs the Grand Old Dude Named York by debut novelist Ross... Read more

The Dragon’s Treasure (Mark Greenwood, Fremantle)

Released July 2024

Buried treasure? Check. Old shipwrecks? Check. Mark Greenwood’s latest nonfiction book, The Dragon’s Treasure, begins his new History Hunter series and pulls together historical evidence to tell the story of... Read more

Forbidden Journal of Rufus Rumble #1 (Nick Long, illus Robin Tatlow-Lord, Affirm)

Released June 2024

Rufus Rumble is not an ordinary boy. For one thing, he’s about to go into space. For another, Rufus lives in a dystopian world where the Throwbackers have taken power... Read more

Ella and the Amazing Frog Orchestra (Cassy Polimeni, illus Hykie Breeze, UWAP)

Released July 2024

Ella and the Amazing Frog Orchestra by Cassy Polimeni (The Garden at the End of the World) is a beautifully written junior fiction story exploring themes of animal conservation, friendship... Read more

Leaf Letters (Lorena Carrington, Christmas Press)

Released July 2024

Nine-year-old Hazel Bird loves to explore her local area and collect little treasures. When her baby sister is born, she can no longer bring home ‘choke-ables’ and is gifted an... Read more

Brock the Croc (Adrian Beck, illus Dean Rankine, Larrikin House)

Released June 2024

Brock the Croc is a humorous early chapter book for kids aged 7+ who have recently become comfortable with independent reading. Brock is the only crocodile in the swamp, and... Read more

Freddie Spector, Fact Collector: Space Cadet (Ashleigh Barton, illus Peter Cheong, Lothian)

Released July 2024

Freddie Spector, Fact Collector: Space Cadet is the first instalment in this funny, fact-filled junior fiction series, ideal for ages 7 to 10. Freddie is a wacky, confident eight-year-old boy who... Read more

Queen of Dogs (Joe Weatherstone, Walker)

Released June 2024

Eleven-year-old Maddy feels like she doesn’t fit in at school or at home with her sporty family. She’d rather be hanging out with her dog, Gusto. When Gusto disappears, Maddy... Read more

Borderlands: Riding the Slipstream (ed by Paul Collins, Ford St)

Released June 2024

Borderlands: Riding the Slipstream is a new Australian anthology for young readers, collating over 40 short stories and poems by well-known children’s authors. Compiled by Paul Collins, who has previously... Read more

Grace the Amazing (Aleesah Darlison, Wombat Books)

Released May 2024

This tender middle-grade novel by well-established children’s author Aleesah Darlison (who wrote the popular junior series League of Llamas) explores friendship, coming to terms with death, and finding the courage... Read more

A Small Collection of Happinesses (Zana Fraillon, illus Stephen Michael King, Lothian)

Released May 2024

In the first pages of acclaimed author Zana Fraillon’s A Small Collection of Happinesses, Ada is ‘blown in…and dumped… right at the front gates of number 9 Hawkhurst Lane’. I... Read more