Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Nevermoor’ continues award-winning run

Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend (Lothian) continues its award-winning streak, earning the author three awards at the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) announced earlier this month. Nevermoor won the awards for Book of the Year for Younger Children and the overall Book of the Year award, with Townsend also picking up the Matt Richell Award for new writer of the year.

Other children’s book winners at the ABIAs were:

At the same awards, Working Title Press publisher Jane Covernton received the Pixie O’Harris Award for service to Australian children’s literature.

Two junior fiction titles were awarded at the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards in late April. How to Bee (Bren MacDibble, A&U) won the $30,000 Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature, while The Ones that Disappeared (Zana Fraillon, Hachette) won the $30,000 Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature.


Category: Think Australian Junior Award-winners