Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA announces 2022 Book of the Year Awards

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has announced the winners of the 2022 Book of the Year Awards.

The winning books in each category are:

Older readers

Older readers: Honour books

Younger readers

Younger readers: Honour books

Early childhood

  • Jetty Jumping (Andrea Rowe, illus by Hannah Sommerville, HGCP)

Early childhood: Honour books

  • Amira’s Suitcase (Vikki Conley, illus by Nicky Johnston, New Frontier)
  • Walk of the Whales (Nick Bland, HGCP)

Picture book of the year

  • Iceberg (Claire Saxby, illus by Jess Racklyeft, A&U)

Picture book of the year: Honour Books

  • Just One Bee (Margrete Lamond & Anthony Bertini, illus by Christopher Nielsen, Dirt Lane Press)
  • Stellarphant (James Foley, Fremantle Press)

Eve Pownall Award

  • Still Alive, Notes from Australia’s Immigration Detention System (Safdar Ahmed, Twelve Panels Press)

Eve Pownall Award: Honour books

  • Heroes, Rebels and Innovators (Karen Wyld, illus by Jaelyn Biumaiwai, Lothian)
  • The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Peculiar Pairs in Nature (Sami Bayly, Hachette)

CBCA Award for New Illustrator

  • Michelle Pereira for The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name (Sandhya Parappukkaran, HGCP).

The winning books were chosen from shortlists announced in March and the CBCA Notable Books list, announced in February.

For more information about the CBCA Awards, see the CBCA website.


Category: Awards Junior Local news