Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tag: awards >


Popular tags

Jasanoff wins US$75,000 Cundill Prize in History

19 November 2018

US author and academic Maya Jasanoff has won Canada's 2018 Cundill Prize in History—the largest international prize for a work of history, worth US$75,000 (A$102,500)—for her book The Dawn Watch: Joseph...

Cundill History Prize 2018 finalists announced

2 November 2018

In Canada, the finalists have been announced for the Cundill History Prize, which rewards ‘the best history writing in English’. Chosen from a shortlist of eight, the finalists are: Prairie...

Benyamin wins inaugural JCB Prize for Literature

26 October 2018

Novelist and short story writer Benyamin has won the inaugural JCB prize for Literature in India. Benyamin won Rs 25 lakhs (A$48,220) for his book Jasmine Days (Juggernaut Books), translated into...

UK Dagger awards 2018 winners announced

26 October 2018

The UK Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Dagger awards. The winners in each category are: Diamond Dagger (for an author whose crime writing careers...

Aussie crime wave

15 June 2018

No doubt you’ve heard of Jane Harper’s debut bestselling crime novel The Dry (Pan). It has added the accolade of crime and thriller ‘book of the year’ at the recent British Book...

Oz authors nominated for 2016 RITA Awards

30 March 2016

Two Australian authors have been nominated for the 2016 RITA Awards, presented by Romance Writers of America (RWA) for ‘excellence in published romance novels and novellas’. M J Scott is...

Australian Romance Readers Awards 2015 winners announced

24 March 2016

The winners of the 2015 Australian Romance Readers Awards, presented by the Australian Romance Readers Association (ARRA), have been announced, with Anne Gracie named Favourite Australian Romance Author. Gracie also...

Carnegie, Greenaway medals 2016 shortlists announced

16 March 2016

In the UK, the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) has announced the shortlists for the 2016 Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals. The eight books on this year’s...

Stella Prize 2016 shortlist announced

10 March 2016

The shortlist for the 2016 Stella Prize has been announced. The shortlisted titles are: Six Bedrooms (Tegan Bennett Daylight, Vintage) Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe) A Few Days in the...

New Zealand Book Awards 2016 shortlists announced

8 March 2016

The shortlists for the New Zealand Book Awards have been announced. The shortlists in each category are: Fiction The Back of His Head (Patrick Evans, Victoria University Press) Chappy (Patricia...

Norma K Hemming Award 2016 shortlist announced

24 February 2016

The shortlist for the 2016 Norma K Hemming Award has been announced. The award is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for a work of speculative fiction published in...

Nebula Awards 2015 nominees announced

23 February 2016

In the US, the 2015 Nebula Awards nominees have been announced. Seven books are nominated in the fiction category: Raising Caine (Charles E Gannon, Baen Books); The Fifth Season (N...